Genre:

Horror

The Walking Dead, Vol. 4: The Heart’s DesireThe Walking Dead, Vol. 04: The Heart's Desire by Robert Kirkman
Series: The Walking Dead #4
Published by Image Comics on April 28th 2009
Genres: Graphic Novel, Horror
Pages: 136
Format: ebook
Buy on Amazon, Buy on Barnes & Noble, Buy at The Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Walking Dead, Vol. 01: Days Gone Bye, The Walking Dead, Vol. 02: Miles Behind Us, The Walking Dead, Vol. 03: Safety Behind Bars
Illustrator: Charlie Adlard, Cliff Rathburn

Life in the prison starts to get interesting for Rick Grimes and the rest of our survivors. Relationships heat up, fizzle out, and change entirely almost overnight. By the end of this volume, relationships between key characters are radically changed, setting the stage for future events in The Walking Dead.

Volume four is my least favorite edition thus far, as I’ve given it a mere three stars. A redeeming quality of this installment is the introduction of the katana-wielding, zombie-enslaving Michonne, by far the most awesome character in the AMC show.

•••
16 comments
Share:
Book Review

The Walking Dead, Vol. 3: Safety Behind Bars

The Walking Dead, Vol. 3: Safety Behind BarsThe Walking Dead, Vol. 03: Safety Behind Bars by Robert Kirkman
Series: The Walking Dead #3
Published by Image Comics on June 18th 2005
Genres: Graphic Novel, Horror
Pages: 136
Format: ebook
Buy on Amazon, Buy on Barnes & Noble, Buy at The Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Walking Dead, Vol. 01: Days Gone Bye, The Walking Dead, Vol. 02: Miles Behind Us, The Walking Dead, Vol. 04: The Heart's Desire
Illustrator: Charlie Adlard

An epidemic of apocalyptic proportions has swept the globe, causing the dead to rise and feed on the living. In a matter of months, society has crumbled: there is no government, no grocery stores, no mail delivery, no cable TV. In a world ruled by the dead, we are forced to finally begin living. This volume follows our band of survivors as they set up a permanent camp inside a prison. Relationships change, characters die, and our team of survivors learn there's something far more deadly than zombies out there: each other.

Volume three picks up right where volume two left off – with the group of survivors coming across a seemingly abandoned fortress of a prison. Tyreese, Rick, and Andrea set to beginning to clean out the prison – meaning killing the multitudes of zombies trapped inside.

Book Review

The Walking Dead, Vol. 2: Miles Behind Us

The Walking Dead, Vol. 2: Miles Behind UsThe Walking Dead, Vol. 02: Miles Behind Us by Robert Kirkman
Series: The Walking Dead #2
Published by Image Comics on November 24, 2004
Genres: Graphic Novel, Horror
Pages: 136
Format: ebook
Buy on Amazon, Buy on Barnes & Noble, Buy at The Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Walking Dead, Vol. 01: Days Gone Bye, The Walking Dead, Vol. 03: Safety Behind Bars, The Walking Dead, Vol. 04: The Heart's Desire
Illustrator: Charlie Adlard

An epidemic of apocalyptic proportions has swept the globe, causing the dead to rise and feed on the living. In a matter of months, society has crumbled: There is no government, no grocery stores, no mail delivery, no cable TV. In a world ruled by the dead, we are forced to finally begin living. This volume follows our band of survivors on their tragic journey in search of shelter. Characters live and die as they brave a treacherous landscape littered with packs of the walking dead.

Miles Behind Us picks up where Days Gone Bye, volume one in the series, left off, with Rick and his comrades burying Shane after Carl killed him in defense of his father. In this issue, it is decided by the group of zombie apocalypse survivors that Rick shall be their leader, as he is a natural and was a sheriff prior to the zombie invasion, after all.

Book Review

The Walking Dead, Vol. 1: Days Gone Bye

The Walking Dead, Vol. 1: Days Gone ByeThe Walking Dead, Vol. 01: Days Gone Bye by Robert Kirkman
Series: The Walking Dead #1
Published by Image Comics on February 19th 2013
Genres: Graphic Novel, Horror
Pages: 144
Format: ebook
Buy on Amazon, Buy on Barnes & Noble, Buy at The Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Walking Dead, Vol. 02: Miles Behind Us, The Walking Dead, Vol. 03: Safety Behind Bars, The Walking Dead, Vol. 04: The Heart's Desire
Illustrator: Tony Moore

How many hours are in a day when you don't spend half of them watching television?

When is the last time any of us REALLY worked to get something we wanted?

How long has it been since any of us really NEEDED something that we WANTED?

The world we knew is gone.

The world of commerce and frivolous necessity has been replaced by a world of survival and responsibility.

An epidemic of apocalyptic proportions has swept the globe causing the dead to rise and feed on the living.

In a matter of months society has crumbled.no government, no grocery stores, no mail delivery, no cable TV.

In a world ruled by the dead, we are forced to finally start living.

Sherriff Rick Grimes wakes up in a hospital after being in a coma for a month, only to discover that the world has changed forever – dramatically.

Book Review

The Girl with All the Gifts

The Girl with All the GiftsThe Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey
Published by Orbit on June 19th 2014
Genres: Science Fiction, Horror
Pages: 460
Format: ebook
Buy on Amazon, Buy on Barnes & Noble, Buy at The Book Depository
Goodreads

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her "our little genius."
Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.
Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.
The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

I’m kind of at a loss for words about this one. I dove into the book head first, expecting nothing, as I hadn’t read the summary; therefore, I knew nothing about it besides the title, which made the story seem like it would be cool.

The Girl with All the Gifts started out sucking me in; I couldn’t get enough of the story of young Melanie’s plight and had fun guessing to myself just what condition plagues the girl, as she is sequestered to a cell in a research facility, where other children like Melanie inhabit cells identical to hers, save for rotating artwork on the walls.

I was absolutely fascinated, that is until I discovered the condition from which Melanie suffers – she’s a highly intelligent child zombie being intensely researched by a doctor who chooses children in the facility to ‘study’. The primary doctor obviously gets a rush out of her disgusting ‘work’.

All of the above kept me interested; the relationship between Melanie and the institution’s teacher, Helen Justineau, got tired after a while and started to get on my nerves, which was too bad for me because the relationship between instructor and pupil is central to the book’s plot.

I felt like The Girl with All the Gifts was too long, at over 400 pages. I feel like Carey (a pen name for a well-known British writer) could have wrapped up the book in around 250 pages; the words stretched in front of me like an endless desert highway – no end in sight.

I finally started skimming the book after making it about 150 pages in. As I expected, the remainder of the tale was predictable, drawn out, and, quite frankly, boring.

I wanted to love The Girl with All the Gifts so badly, which is probably why I’m so disappointed.

The bottom line is that the book began very promisingly, with an awesome basis for a story line. Unfortunately, the borderline weird connection between Miss Justineau and Melanie turned me off very much; it was predictable – with Miss Justineau and Melanie simultaneously ‘saving’ each other in a symbiotic relationship.

Love, Maggie